WhatsApp delete message
WhatsApp delete message
  WhatsApp delete message
WhatsApp is currently deploying a function to delete messages that have just been sent. She is already walking on some accounts, but not (yet) on all. No need to monitor an update of the app on Google Play or the App Store, this change is server-side. Nevertheless it is necessary that everyone has the version currently available on the blinds for this to work.

When you send a message, you have 7 minutes to delete it. After it is sent, touch it and select “Delete” from the pop-up menu. You will have the choice between the actions “Delete for everyone” and “Delete for me”.

If you delete for “everyone“, your message in the conversation will be changed to “This message has been deleted” (the alert in the Notification Center will also be deleted). To make it disappear on your screen, touch it and make “Delete” again.

WhatsApp delete message
WhatsApp delete message

If you chose “Delete for me“, your correspondents continue to see your message but it is erased on your iPhone (you may want to hide some of your exchanges if someone consults your phone).

WhatsApp delete message
WhatsApp delete message
Keep in mind that if this function allows you to delete a message (for example with a fault or posted in the wrong place), it still leaves a trace of its passage. Your correspondent will see that you have published and deleted something.
And if they had their eye on their notifications at the time of your submission, they may have had time to see all or part of the message before it was deleted.