HOW TOIPHONE TIPS

iPhone is Disabled: How to Unlock

Your iPhone is locked when you see such messages on the locked screen: iPhone is disabled. In many cases, you will see “iPhone is disabled. Try it within 1 or 5 or 15 or 60 minutes. And sometimes you will see a crazy message like “iPhone disabled for 20 million minutes” In other cases, you’ll see “iPhone is disabled, connect to iTunes”.

If you are one of those who are facing this error and want to get rid of it, let us find out its Method here.

Why your iPhone is disabled?

Your iPhone is not working and been disabled due to many attempts of wrong passcodes. Usually, if you try to enter 5 times incorrect codes back to back, your iPhone will get the error of disabled.

If you will try 7 times with wrong codes, your iPhone will be disabled for 5 minutes and so on 8 wrong attempts, 15 minutes – 9 wrong attempts 60 mints and if you have tried to enter the wrong code for 10 times, iPhone will be deactivated and it will ask to connect it to iTunes.

Following are some of the situations where you enter incorrect codes that eventually make your iPhone disabled.

  • You forget the code and entered various wrong codes over 6 times.
  • And the small kid has pressed buttons on the lock screen randomly several times.
  • If someone attempts to guess the passcode of your iPhone to unlock it.

Read Also: How To Fix Internet Not Working on iPhone X

Method 1: the iPhone is disabled, try after XX minutes. What to do with this situation?

When you get to see that your iPhone has been deactivated, try again in 5 or 15 or 60 minutes, just wait for said minutes and then try to unlock your phone with the correct code or Touch ID. In the case of forgot the code, you can skip the blocked iPhone with the following solutions.

In extreme case, when the iPhone is disabled for 23 or 24 or 25 million minutes, it is usually because the iPhone has a screen broken or has a jailbreak. Still, you can get it fixed with Method 2 and Method 3.

Method 2: iPhone is disabled, connect to iTunes. How to skip this process?

If the iPhone 7 or iPhone 7 Plus says: iPhone is disabled, connect with iTunes, you must connect your Phone to iTunes and then restore the device. A restoration process will erase all on the Phone as well as its code. As the restoration of the iPhone with iTunes will erase all your data, you must connect the phone with a PC or a Mac where you previously synchronized your iPhone and made a backup.

Step 1: Connect the device:

Connect the iPhone to the computer (where you previously synchronized your device). And, open iTunes on the system.

Step 2: Create a backup in iTunes:

Click on the iPhone logo, then press “summary” in the left panel and click on Backup Now and create a backup in iTunes.

Step 3: Reset the device:

Click on “Reset iPhone”. And follow the instructions that appear on the screen to finish the restoration process.

Step 4: Restoring the device:

Once it is restored, your iPhone will be completely cleaned and it is been restored as a fresh device. In the case, if iOS Setup Assistant prompts you to configure your iPhone, select “Restore from iTunes Backup”. Simply choose your iPhone in iTunes & select the backup which you have taken most recently.

If you have never synced your device with iTunes before, you will see get errors: “iTunes cannot connect it with the device as it is locked with a code, enter the code before connecting with iTunes.” If this is the case, you can pass the deactivation screen to iTunes in this step.

Step 1: Switch off the iPhone.

Step 2: Connect the device to the computer. Connect iPhone with the USB cable but do not connect with the computer. Run iTunes on the system.

Step 3: Put the iPhone in recovery mode. Turn off the iPhone in the mode of recovery: Press & hold the Power + Start buttons while connecting the device to the computer system (Ensure iTunes is open).

Step 4: Connect to iTunes. Leave the power button & keep pressing the start button till you see the message “Connect with iTunes” screen.

Step 5: Reset the device.

Method 3: How to activate a disabled iPhone device without using a computer?

If your device is activated with “Search for my iPhone”, you can choose “Delete information remotely” to delete the content and code of your iPhone. Then you will be able to unlock the iPhone.

Step 1: Log in to the iCloud account.

Login to icloud.com with the code and Apple ID (the code will be the same which you use to iCloud, not the code of your iPhone that you forgot).

Step 2: Delete the desired device.

Click on “Search My iPhone”, and select “All devices” which you will find at the top of the browser window. Later, choose the device which you want to delete.

Step 3: Delete the device remotely.

Click on “Delete iPhone” to remotely erase the iPhone and the code.

Step 4: Restore backup.

When the iOS Settings Assistant of your iPhone asks you to configure the device, select “Restore from iCloud / iTunes backup”.

Important Note: If you plan to recover all your data on an iPhone 6 / 6s / 7 disabled, you are permitted to use Data Recovery to recover the erased data and other files from the iTunes or iCloud backups.

Now the iPhone has unlocked. However, if you do not want your device to be disabled once you forget the iPhone code, you should activate Touch ID on your iPhone 5s, 6 / 6s / SE / 7 Plus / 7 / 8 or 8 Plus Or make sure to take a backup of your iPhone with iTunes or iCloud.

 

Read More: How to Login to DFU mode in iPhone 7 and 7 Plus

Tags

Soufiane

Soufiane El Ghouat, I'm 28 years old, I'm a publisher interested in iPhone Also other Apple product, fixing issues and general problems, Hard reset devices, also Review of popular smartphones and High Tech.

Related Articles

Close
Close